The pain in the campaign falls mainly in the terrain….

So I’ve spent about eight hours (including sleep) trying to figure out how to begin my terrain campaign. At least an hour of that was while driving, so I did actually have some “quality thinking time” on the subject.

What I am trying to do is figure out where the biggest “bang for the buck” is in terrain, and then figure out the best, fastest and cheapest way to manufacture (yes, I said “manufacture”) enough terrain to fulfill my needs.

So far I’ve decided that the following are the most likely “bang for the buck” terrain elements:

1. Tables (small, large, nightstands, etc.)
2. Chests (treasure, clothes, travel, etc.)
3. Wagons (carraiges, chariots, simple wagons, etc.)
4. Bookcases (and books?)
5. Pillars
6. Altars
7. Gravestones, tombs, coffins
8. Ruins
9. Stairs

Each of these has their own unique challenges and opportunities. Tables seem pretty simple, but nothing is ever simple once you are squeezing glue and cutting stuff…. My basic plan for tables is to get some origami paper (the thinnest I can find) and then get a bunch of wooden coffee stirring sticks (I have a big box of these) and glue down a whole bunch of coffee sticks on a whole bunch of paper, placing a heavy, flat object on top to have the flattest final result possible. The paper is basically just a means of keeping the wooden “slabs” aligned and connected. That will give me a ton of raw material for table tops. For the frame/legs my current plan is to make a bunch of table leg units, each one made by glueing a cross-bar to two legs. How big I make these leg units will pretty much determine the size of the table, so I will probably make them of various sizes. Then, after I’ve got a bunch of raw table top material, and I have a bunch of leg units (which will look sort of like a “pi” symbol) then I’ll cut the table tops to size and glue the leg units on. Each leg unit will be glued not only to the table top, but to a leg unit set at right angles, so once the glue is dry, I think this will be a very sturdy little table. Then, when all is dry, I will use some very fine sandpaper to sand down the table tops, and to sand down the legs to make them even. Then I will dip them into some varnish/stain and let them dry. Voila! Tables by the dozen!

I’ll start fiddling around with that tomorrow night since tonight is my writers’ workshop class… I’m getting jazzed up about making these tables!

Leave a Reply

