Casting with Hydrostone…

So I now have the fifty pound bag of Hydrostone that I purchased at a local ceramics supply store for right at $30 with tax (and no shipping).

That compares to the over $55 I spent on 25 pounds of Excalibur, or the $10 I spent on 8 pounds of “Artplaster” or the $8 or so I spent on Lightweight Hydrocal.

Oh, well, look at that. I’ve spent $103 on plaster… Geez, I leak money sometimes… Still, at roughly a quarter per pound of Hydrostone, compared to well over a dollar a pound on the other products… looks like I’ve found an economical way to pursue this hobby going forward. I bought the Hydrostone a few days ago, but today was the first chance I’ve had to actually use it.

It’s pretty good stuff so far. I guess I won’t be absolutely certain it’s good stuff until it dries enough that I can paint and glue my first pieces of it, but at this point the results look remarkably similar to the Excalibur, and it’s slightly easier to work with.

Tonight I decided to start working on my own molds after all. As much as I would like to continue to purchase molds from Hirst, just because I like to support customer focused businesses which provide a quality product at a fair price, well, I still can’t justify spending hundreds of dollars more on their molds. The molds typically cost $35 or so, plus shipping, so $300 would only get you seven or eight molds (they do have a few cheaper, smaller molds). Well, I say “only” but in reality those seven or eight molds would let you create just about any setting your heart desired.

But it’s still $300…

So tonight I made a couple of items out of wood, then used clay to make a “proof mold” and then cast what will potentially become my “original” for items I’ll cast myself. They came out pretty nice really. So now I’m sort of sitting back with a bourbon and coke and contemplating what I want to make so I can make new molds and then cast to my heart’s content… After all, I’ve got about 65 pounds of plaster in my house that needs to be made into SOMETHING.

Leave a Reply

