Totally epic dude!

Well, we did it. My 4e group finally hit epic level. Level 21 introduces us to the whole new realm of epic adventuring.

Our first quest appears to be to hunt down and subdue the Tarrasque.

My ranger, Kataar, is as close to a munchkin character as I’ve ever played. He is a melee monster. A damage dealing dervish of demonic destructiveness. It’s sorta embarrassing how much damage he can do.

Which brings me to epic-ness…

I was expecting to see some bump in effectiveness for reaching epic level. I figured it would be more than a simple level up situation.

But I was amazed after going through the online Character Builder tool and comparing my post-epic Kataar to my pre-epic Kataar.

Basically he has gotten significantly better in every area he was already pretty darn good. The epic path he picked allows him to add a +2 to any two ability scores. Of course he picked dex and str. Plus crossing the epic boundary provides a boost to several feats just for moving from the “paragon” tier to the “epic” tier. For example, his “power attack” damage bonus goes from +6/+4 (main hand/off hand) to +9/+6. His weapon focus feat goes from +2 to +3. Etc.

The end result is that his attack modifier went from +24 at level 20 to +27 at level 21. Usually you see about a one point boost in your attack modifier per level. So in that sense moving from level 20 to level 21 is like advancing three levels in one step.

The question is going to be whether epic level encounters factor this sort of jump in, or if the AC, Attack and Damage progression is pretty linear for them. I guess I will find out.

I’ve only played a couple of characters in my 30+ year D&D career that got higher than level 12. Usually the campaigns I am in start at level 1 and peter out somewhere around level 10 or so. Playing a demigod-type character is an unusual situation for me, and it has its own entertainment value.

I am looking forward to our next session so I can see what sort of impact all these combat boosts have in, well, combat. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Totally epic dude!

  1. I have read about the tarrasque… and wondered what sort of mad characters could ever advance far enough to try it. Seems like a DM headache to track all the godlike powers and godlike monsters and have it work out.

    Interested to hear how it goes, even though I’ll have to hold my nose at the whole “4e” thing 😉

  2. Well, I am not at all familiar with the 4e version of the Tarrasque, although I’ve read up on the 3.5 version. I’m assuming that there are similarities, but that they aren’t really even in the same ballpark in terms of actual abilities. The Tarrasque in 3.5 was literally unkillable. The best you could do was beat it into submission so it would burrow back down into the earth to hibernate. I’m assuming the same is true in 4e, but I don’t actually know. But the power differential between a 3.5 level 20 party and a 4e level 20 party is so massive, I assume that the 4e Tarrasque does not compare to the 3.5 Tarrasque. My guess is that the 4e version has a ridiculous amount of hit points, can do massive multi-attacks and probably has a damaging or disabling aura to make it more difficult for the party to just beat it down.

    My expectation is that the Tarrasque fight in 4e will resemble the “Patches” fight in World of Warcraft, which is a fight that is just pure attrition. It will likely boil down to how long our party melee damage-doers can survive in close proximity to the Tarrasque so that our relatively low amounts of damage will whittle the Tarrasque’s massive hit points down before our own healing surges run out.

    Unfortunately for our party, our biggest problem is likely to be my ranger. My ranger is a damage machine in one-on-one fights. He gets both attack and damage bonuses for fighting one-on-one, and fighting the Tarrasque is likely to be a gang-fight, meaning our biggest damage source will be somewhat gimped for the fight where his damage is most needed.

    Ah well, I knew fights like this would happen….

Leave a Reply

