The price of being an amateur…

Sigh…. So I have an account on the Hirst Arts messageboard. I normally only comment on other people’s amazing builds or ask questions about materials or glue or stuff like that.

The other day someone posted a question about making furniture. So I linked to some of the furniture I made. Like these:

And this:

And these:

And these:

In return a couple of folks commented rather pointedly on the “rough” nature of the items. I knew better but decided to reply that my goal was not to produce “fine art” but to enhance my gaming. One of the folks who had expressed dislike of my efforts then responded that it destroyed their gaming verisimiltude for them to be able to see that the bookshelves were made from “popsicle sticks” and that I should have done more to “disguise” their true nature.

I have to say it is people like that who make me appreciate the comments of the vast majority of my posters and my gaming buddies. Thanks to all of you for your kind words. 🙂

5 thoughts on “The price of being an amateur…

  1. Well, apparently I am the “jerk” for suggesting that it wasn’t really nice to call my stuff “rough” and state that it wouldn’t be fun to play with them because they looked like “popsicles.” It was suggested that I might perhaps be something of a kindergarten student. To the point though, the individual who said my stuff didn’t measure up to his standards did say he doesn’t game much, he does “realistic looking” diaramas.

Leave a Reply

