The Hobbit approaches

So this weekend I will be seeing Peter Jackson’s latest foray into the realms of Middle Earth when the first of three “The Hobbit” movies comes out.

I am looking forward to it. I know it won’t follow the book, there’s not enough material in the book to flesh out three movies. But I am perfectly fine with mining the Silmarillion, the LotR and Hobbit Appendices and even some of the unpublished work of JRR Tolkien to weave the Hobbit narrative more completely into the LotR narrative.

I just don’t want them to screw it up by totally making up nonsense. As long as they stick by the actual material from the books, even if they embellish it a bit for dramatic purposes, I’ll be fine. But if they introduce entirely new plot lines or major characters, I will be a bit disappointed.

Anyone else planning to see the movie?

Leave a Reply

